Barbecue Chicken Pizza With a Cauliflower Crust

I have seen so many people rant and rave about cauliflower pizza crust and how delicious it is. I finally decided to try it!

photo (28)

I used a Cauliflower pizza Crust Recipe from Eating Bird Food blog. The only thing that I changed about the recipe was to add 1 C. of parmesan cheese instead of her suggested 1 C. of mozzarella cheese.

photo (29)

While the cauliflower crust is baking, sauté 1/2 onion, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 C. of sliced mushrooms, and 1 bell pepper in 1 tsp. of olive oil. Cook on medium until the onions are translucent and the peppers are tender.

After removing the crust from the oven, spread any gluten free barbecue sauce of your choice onto it. Then, add enough 2% mozzarella cheese to cover the sauce. Add vegetable mixture over the cheese, and put 2 C. chopped grilled chicken on top of the veggies. Sprinkle parmesan cheese over the top if desired. Broil for 5 minutes or until cheese is melted.

I have to admit that I do not like raw cauliflower very much, so I was skeptical about the pizza crust. But, I really really liked it! The crust was soft, and had a great cheesy taste. My only complaint is that I feel that the cauliflower burns easily, hence the dark outside of my crust above. That part didn’t taste too great. I would suggest cooking your crust for a few minutes less than the recipe suggests.

It was so great to be eating healthy pizza! Who knew cauliflower could taste so yummy?!

-XO,

Molly

Leave a Reply

