I Found It!

dress

the-altar-consigment-shop

WeddingDressShopping-3

I found my wedding dress yesterday! Obviously, I want nothing more than to describe every detail of it to everyone I see….but I can’t. I will definitely put lots of pics up after the wedding though!

Finding a dress was very different than watching Say Yes to the Dress. I took my mom and sister, but thankfully no one got into an argument or any other dramatics like the show portrays. Also, everyone says that when you find your dress you’ll know. I assumed that was true, but didn’t know what to expect. Well, I didn’t find “the one,” I found three. Each dress was equally beautiful and flattering. To make matters worse, they were all completely different. But, after trying the three of them on multiple times, I finally decided which one was meant to be mine. I am completely happy with my decision and have no second thoughts at all!

I have a few pointers for those of you shopping for a dress in the near future:

1.) Take the saleslady’s advice. They know what type of dress looks good on your particular body type. Listen to her! This will keep you from getting overwhelmed. Trust me!

2.) Go shopping 4-6 months ahead of time. Most people, like me, cannot order off the rack and have to have their gown specially made for them. This takes a lot of time!

3.) Find out what type of alteration services your dress designer provides. I expected to pay a large amount for alterations at the bridal shop. Luckily, I found out that my dress designer would specially make my dress for my particular height at no extra charge. Also, they will make my dress to fit my body measurements for a small extra fee. This saves a lot of time and money on alterations later!

4.) If you are able, shop local. I got my dress from a local boutique. We didn’t have to make an appointment, and didn’t have to wait in line for service. Also, we get great perks! The boutique will steam my dress for bridal portraits and the wedding, as well as my bridesmaid’s dresses if I choose to purchase them there. Lastly, they will deliver my dress and bridesmaid’s dresses to the church on my wedding day so that I don’t have to worry about it. Isn’t that great?

I am so thankful to have another thing off my long wedding to-do list! Get ready for an absolutely awesome giveaway Friday!

-XO,

Molly

One thought on “I Found It!

Leave a Reply

