Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

I tried quinoa for the first time this week. I had heard all of the raving reviews about how wonderful it was, but had never tried it. It is absolutely delicious! It has a chewy, nutty flavor that can be paired with basically any spice. I will definitely be using it in as many recipes as I can from now on.

I searched for recipes for quinoa stuffed peppers, but I couldn’t find any that I liked. So I made my up my own recipe! They turned out to be delicious. I hope you love them as much as I did!

photo (19)

First, wash and dry 6 bell peppers. Cut off the tops and scoop out all of the seeds. Set aside.

Next, sauté 2 cloves of chopped garlic and 1/2 chopped onion in 1tbsp. of olive oil until translucent. Add in 1 C. of fresh chopped mushrooms and 1 C. of chopped fresh spinach. Add in 1 lb. of ground beef or turkey. Add salt, pepper, onion, and garlic powder to taste. Cook until meat is no longer pink.

While the meat and veggies are cooking, cook 1 C. of quinoa according to package directions.

When meat and quinoa are ready, combine the mixtures together with 1/2 C. mozzarella cheese.

Put the bell peppers in a 9 by 13 pan. Stuff them with quinoa mixture.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top and return to oven for the last five minutes.

This is definitely one of my go-to quick, easy, and healthy meals to fix!

-XO,

Molly

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers

Leave a Reply

