DIY Chalkboard Picture Frame

Anyone that knows me personally is aware that I am not crafty. I like to cook, clean, and do pretty much any other domestic task, but I absolutely cannot stand crafting. Probably because I am TERRIBLE at making things, or the fact that I lose interest and quit. I want to like crafts, but sadly, I just don’t.

Last week, I met with our engagement photographer to talk about ideas, outfits, and inspiration for our engagement session this Saturday. She suggested that a framed chalkboard would be a fun prop for our pictures. So I decided that I absolutely NEEDED to have one. However, I knew this bright idea would involve crafting. After thinking about what making the picture frame would entail, I decided that I would give it a shot.

chalkboard

I bought an unpainted wooden frame, a piece of plywood, gold spraypaint, and chalkboard spraypaint from Michaels.

paint

frame

I put the frame on top of newspaper, and added 4 coats of metallic gold spraypaint. The directions on the back of the can said that each coat only had to dry for about five minutes, so I was able to complete all 4 coats fairly quickly. However, I let it dry for 24 hours after I had finished all of the coats.

board

Next, my dad cut the plywood to fit the frame, and sanded the edges. Then, I sprayed 4 coats of chalkboard paint onto the wood. After that, I let it dry for 24 hours.

frame1

The next day I glued the frame and plywood together with hot glue. It looks great!

I finally completed a craft successfully and cannot wait to use it for our engagement session on Saturday! Maybe you’ll get a sneak peek of our pics soon!

-XO,

Molly

2 thoughts on “DIY Chalkboard Picture Frame

Leave a Reply

