Fitness Friday

Training for a race requires more dedictated, structured running workouts. I’m running a 10k in the spring, and have started a workout plan to make sure that I finish strong and within my goal time. I’ve found that I am more likely to stick to my running workout plan if I hang it on my refrigerator at home where I can see it!

Week

Mon

Tue

Wed

Thu

Fri

Sat

Sun

1

3 m run + strength

3 m run

35 min tempo run

3 m run + strength

Rest

60 min cross

4 m run

2

3 m run + strength

3.5 m run

8 x 400 5-K pace

4 m run + strength

Rest

60 min cross

5 m run

3

3 m run + strength

4 m run

40 min tempo run

3 m run + strength

Rest

60 min cross

6 m run

4

3 m run + strength

4.5 m run

9 x 400 5-K pace

4 m run + strength

2 m run

Rest

5-K Race

5

3 m run + strength

5 m run

45 min tempo run

3 m run + strength

Rest

60 min cross

6 m run

6

3 m run + strength

5.5 m run

10 x 400 5-K pace

4 m run + strength

Rest

60 min cross

7 m run

7

3 m run + strength

6 m run

50 min tempo run

4 m run + strength

Rest

60 min cross

8 m run

8

3 m run + strength

3 m run

5 x 400 5-K pace

1-3 m run

Rest

Rest

10-K Race

Two days a week, I also take a strength-training based bootcamp class at my local gym. This helps me to grow stronger as I am adding extra cardio to my workout schedule. I really recommend it!

Happy running!

-XO, Molly

Leave a Reply

